Catena-X
Secure and standardised
data exchange.

Catena-X
Secure and standardised
data exchange.

Catena-X: An alliance of partners for secure and standardised data exchange in the automotive industry

Gateway to Catena-X for small and medium-sized enterprises

Flexibility, efficiency, resourcefulness and sustainability – such factors are prerequisites for success in the automotive industry. The Catena-X Automotive Network is a Europe-wide association of partners and players involved right across the automotive sector and was formed to help businesses who operate in this marketplace to be ready to face their challenges. The alliance offers an open ecosystem in which automotive manufacturers and suppliers as well as industry associations and equipment suppliers can all participate equally. The goal is to establish common and uniform standards for secure data and information flows along the entire automotive value chain.

Through its subsidiary German Edge Cloud, the Friedhelm Loh Group is a member of Catena-X and plays a special role as a gateway to give access to this network for small and medium-sized enterprises in Germany.

Overarching goal of Catena-X: Improved competitiveness

The purpose of Catena-X is to secure the position of the European automotive industry and to continue to play a pivotal role in the future. By joining forces and promoting cross-industry data networking, standardisation and access to information, the participating companies aim to raise the competitiveness of vehicle manufacturing, improve efficiencies through industry-specific cooperation and accelerate business processes across the whole sector.

To this end, the alliance members are building an industrial data ecosystem as a standardised basis for secure data and information exchange. Compliance with the principles of Gaia-X and use of the International Data Spaces (IDS) data connector serve to guarantee data protection and data sovereignty.

At the same time, the network offers scope for innovation and the development of services through innovative, network-driven approaches. This creates the basis for new business models, product and service offerings – especially for small and medium-sized enterprises.

“The Catena-X network creates a platform for all businesses involved in the automotive value chain and consequently optimises end‑to‑end data chains across relevant processes. And we at German Cloud are helping small and medium-sized enterprises to secure these future benefits by providing access to this platform.”

says Dieter Meuser, Managing Director of German Edge Cloud and member of the advisory board of Catena-X.

 
 

German Edge Cloud prepares the ground for SMEs

German Edge Cloud can help you to plan the digital transformation of your automotive business and become part of the ecosystem. It is important, especially for small and medium-sized enterprises, to tackle digitalisation in practical and progressive stages that can be implemented without the need for large teams of specialists often available to major corporations.

Discussions with the GEC experts will give answers to such questions as: Which use case will bring the fastest benefits for my company? And what is the best way to approach it? With our services and solutions, your company can quickly and easily create the technical starting point in terms of IT, digitalisation and data.

With our cloud-native technologies, for example, you can simply automate your existing applications into the cloud. We offer you scalable cloud platforms as a service, as well as IT architecture advice and know-how development tailored to your needs.

In addition, we have developed the edge cloud appliance ONCITE as a solution for simple digitalisation of your processes. Full data sovereignty is maintained at all times. You alone always have control over who you want to share your data with.

GEC places the focus on solutions to connect small and medium-sized automotive suppliers and their production data to the network. Data security and data sovereignty are guaranteed by edge cloud solutions in accordance with the principles of Gaia-X.

Whether your goal is the digital transformation of your processes or the development of new business models – the experts at German Edge Cloud offer tailored services to get you started and accompany you all the way to the finishing line … and beyond!

 

Industrial Edge Appliance

Edge and cloud perfectly combined – learn more about our cloud-based industrial edge appliance.

Smart MOM

Easily manage manufacturing operations to increase efficiency

 
 
 
Cloud Automation
Industrial Solutions
Operations
as a Service

Catena-X
Sicherer und standardisierter 
Datenaustausch.

Catena-X
Sicherer und standardisierter 
Datenaustausch.

Catena-X: Die Allianz für sicheren und standardisierten Datenaustausch in der Automobilindustrie

Bahn frei für den Mittelstand zu Catena-X

Wandlungsfähigkeit, Wirtschaftlichkeit, Resilienz und Nachhaltigkeit – diese Faktoren sind zentrale Anforderungen an die Automobilindustrie. Das Automotive Network Catena-X hat sich zusammengeschlossen, um die Marktteilnehmer für diese Herausforderungen zu stärken. Die Allianz bietet ein offenes Ökosystem, an dem sich Automobilhersteller und -zulieferer, Branchenverbände sowie Ausrüster beteiligen können. Ziel ist es unter anderem, einheitliche Standards für sichere Daten- und Informationsflüsse in der gesamten automobilen Wertschöpfungskette zu schaffen.

Die Friedhelm Loh Group ist mit ihrer Tochtergesellschaft German Edge Cloud Mitglied von Catena-X und bildet insbesondere für den deutschen Mittelstand die Brücke zu dem Netzwerk.

Übergeordnetes Ziel von Catena-X: Verbesserte Wettbewerbsfähigkeit

Durch Catena-X soll die europäische Automobilindustrie im internationalen Wettbewerb auch in Zukunft eine starke Rolle einnehmen. Die beteiligten Unternehmen wollen durch die Nutzung von unternehmensübergreifend geteilten Daten die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Fahr­zeugindustrie erhöhen, die Effizienz in der industriespezifischen Zusammenarbeit verbessern sowie Unternehmens­prozesse flächendeckend beschleunigen.

Die Mitglieder der Allianz errichten dazu ein industrialisiertes Datenökosystem und die Basis für einen einheitlichen, souveränen Daten- und Informations­austausch. Durch die Umsetzung der Anforderungen von Gaia-X und dem Einsatz des International Data Spaces (IDS) Data Connector sind Datenschutz und Datensouveränität gewährleistet.

Gleichzeitig bietet das Netzwerk Innovationsräume für die Entwicklung von Services durch netzwerkbasierte, innovative Ansätze. So entsteht – besonders auch für den Mittelstand – die Grundlage für neue Geschäftsmodelle und Angebote.

„Im Catena-X-Netzwerk schaffen wir eine Plattform für alle Beteiligten der automobilen Wertschöpfungskette und damit verbunden durchgängige Datenketten für relevante Prozesse. Wir als German Cloud helfen dem Mittelstand dabei, zukünftig von der Verbindung zur Plattform zu profitieren.“

erläutert Dieter Meuser, Geschäftsführer der German Edge Cloud und Beiratsmitglied von Catena-X.

 
 

German Edge Cloud bringt KMU mittelstandsgerecht an den Start

Die German Edge Cloud unterstützt Sie als Marktteilnehmer der Automobilindustrie dabei, die Weichen für die Digitalisierung Ihres Unternehmens zu stellen und Teil des Ökosystems zu werden. Gerade für KMU kommt es darauf an, die Digitalisierung in realistischen Schritten, die sich ohne die großen Spezialisten-Teams der Konzerne umsetzen lassen, anzugehen.

Der Austausch mit den GEC-Experten hilft bei der Antwort auf die Fragen: Welcher Use Case bringt in meinem Unternehmen den schnellsten Nutzen? Und wie lässt er sich am besten angehen? Mit unseren Dienstleistungen und Lösungen kann Ihr Unternehmen schnell und einfach die technische Ausgangsbasis hinsichtlich IT, Digitalisierung und Daten schaffen.

So können Sie mit unseren Cloud-nativen Technologien beispielsweise einfach mit Ihren bestehenden Anwendungen automatisiert in die Cloud gehen. Wir bieten Ihnen bedarfsgerecht Cloud-Plattformen as a Service, IT-Architekturberatung und Know-how-Aufbau.

Darüber hinaus haben wir mit der Edge-Cloud-Appliance ONCITE eine Lösung zur einfachen Digitalisierung Ihrer Prozesse entwickelt. Dabei ist volle Datensouveränität gegeben. So haben Sie immer in der Hand, mit wem Sie Ihre Daten teilen möchten.

GEC den Fokus auf Lösungen für die Anbindung von mittelständischen Automobilzulieferern und deren Pro­duktionsdaten an das Netzwerk. Die Datensicherheit und Datensouveränität werden dabei durch Edge-Cloud-Lösungen nach dem Prinzip von Gaia-X gewährleistet.

Ob Sie Ihre Prozesse digitalisieren oder neue Geschäftsmodelle entwickeln möchten – die Experten der German Edge Cloud bringen Sie individuell an den Start, über die Ziellinie … und darüber hinaus!

 

Industrial Edge Appliance

Edge und Cloud perfekt verbaut – erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Cloud-basierten Industrial Edge-Appliance.

Smart MOM

Einfache Verwaltung von Fertigungsabläufen zwecks Effizienzsteigerungen

 
 
 
Cloud Automation
Industrial Solutions
Operations
as a Service